MacDonald Assigns New Caucus Responsibilities

November 27, 2013

(Halifax, NS) – NDP Acting Leader Maureen MacDonald has assigned new caucus responsibilities.

Queens- Shelburne MLA Sterling Belliveau is the new NDP Whip. He is also the critic for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal, and Natural Resources.

Long-time Cape Breton Centre MLA Frank Corbett resumes his role as NDP House Leader. He is also the critic for Energy, Communications Nova Scotia, Gaming Part I, Intergovernmental Affairs, the Public Service Commission, Labour and the Workers’ Compensation Act.

Sydney-Whitney Pier MLA Gordie Gosse will become the NDP’s Deputy House Leader. He is also the critic for Aboriginal Affairs, Community Services, Justice, Immigration as well as the Sydney Steel Corporation Act and the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency.

Sackville-Cobequid MLA David Wilson was named Caucus Chair. He is also the NDP critic for Health and Wellness, Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations, and Acadian Affairs.

Chester – St. Margaret’s MLA Denise Peterson-Rafuse is critic for Education and Early Childhood Development, Economic and Rural Development and Tourism, and Seniors.

Truro-Bible Hill-Milbrook-Salmon River MLA Lenore Zann is critic for Agriculture, Gaming Part II, Communities, Culture and Heritage, Environment, and Status of Women.

“The people I’ve selected for these roles have years of experience and are already well acquainted with their responsibilities,” said MacDonald. “Obviously this is a time of transition, but I’m certain our team will be able to hit the ground running and provide the type of strong, effective opposition Nova Scotians expect from the NDP.”

Acting Leader Maureen MacDonald is also the critic for the Premier, Advanced Education, Finance and Treasury Board, African Nova Scotian Affairs, Gaelic Affairs, and the Voluntary Sector.

A new session of the Nova Scotia legislature begins tomorrow.