NDP Caucus Roles and Critic Portfolios Announced

March 16, 2016

For Immediate Release

March 16, 2016

NDP Caucus Roles and Critic Portfolios Announced

 (Halifax, NS) NS NDP Leader, Gary Burrill, announced new roles and critic portfolios for MLAs at a Caucus meeting this afternoon.

These changes will see Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River MLA, Lenore Zann, take on the role of Caucus Chair and Sterling Belliveau, MLA for Queens-Shelburne as the new Caucus Whip. Dave Wilson, MLA for Sackville Cobequid will continue as House Leader, with Chester-St. Margarets MLA, Denise Peterson-Rafuse, now serving as Deputy House Leader. Dartmouth South MLA, Marian Mancini, will be the NDP’s Leader in the House.

“We have a tremendous team here and it is important to ensure their experience, interests and skills are reflected in the roles they have within our Caucus” said Burrill.

The critic portfolio Aboriginal Affairs has been expanded to Aboriginal Affairs and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Lenore Zann will be leading a consultation with First Nations leaders on the TRC recommendations that relate to provincial jurisdiction.

After serving as Interim Leader since 2013, Maureen MacDonald will not be taking on any formal critic roles for the next several months.

“Maureen has worked tirelessly for the party during her 26 months as Interim Leader and we are happy to create some open space for a well-deserved rest for her” said Burrill.  “I look forward to continuing to work with Maureen as a valued member of our Caucus.”

A full list of critic portfolios follows this release.




For more information:

Emily Reid




NDP Caucus Roles and Critic Areas

March 16, 2016


Gary Burrill


 Critic portfolios:

–          Poverty and Income Inequality

–          Advanced Education

–          Finance and Treasury Board


Sterling Belliveau

MLA, Queens-Shelburne

Caucus Whip

Critic portfolios:

–          Fisheries and Aquaculture

–          Municipal Affairs

–          Natural Resources

–          Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal

–          Energy


Marian Mancini

MLA, Dartmouth South

Leader in the House

Critic portfolios:

–          Community Services

–          Justice

–          Seniors

–          Premier’s Office and Executive Council

–          Human Rights Commission

–          Gaelic Affairs


Denise Peterson-Rafuse

MLA, Chester-St. Margarets

Deputy House Leader

Critic portfolios:

–          Business

–          Immigration

–          Communications Nova Scotia

–          Environment

–          Service Nova Scotia


Dave Wilson

MLA, Sackville Cobequid

House Leader

Critic portfolios:

–          Acadian Affairs

–          Health and Wellness

–          Internal Services

–          Labour

–          Public Service Commission


Lenore Zann

MLA, Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River

Caucus Chair

Critic portfolios:

–          Aboriginal Affairs and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

–          African Nova Scotian Affairs

–          Agriculture

–          Communities, Culture and Heritage

–          Education and Early Childhood Development

–          Film and Television Incentive Fund

–          Status of Women